tobeNormally I am not awake at 6:30 in the morning. But the rain was coming down with great noise, so I listened patiently as if receiving wisdom from my elders.  And, as the sagacious voice poured into my tired ears, the bed began to sway more than rock for what seemed like at least thirty seconds. Part of me listened desperately for sirens or helicopters shouting instructions, but any noise was dampened by the rain.

Of course, I have no picture of an earthquake, only these birds set free and the following data from the USGS:

Event Time

  1. 2014-07-07 11:23:55 UTC
  2. 2014-07-07 06:23:55 UTC-05:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-07-07 04:23:55 UTC-07:00 system time

Location

14.742°N 92.409°W depth=60.0km (37.3mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 2km (1mi) NNE of Puerto Madero, Mexico
  2. 22km (14mi) SW of Tapachula, Mexico
  3. 29km (18mi) NW of Suchiate, Mexico
  4. 29km (18mi) WNW of Ciudad Tecun Uman, Guatemala
  5. 204km (127mi) W of Guatemala City, Guatemala

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: